Who We Are

A chinese lion statue

The Bujinkan Omaha Dojo located in Omaha, Nebraska is a licensed study group that operates as a satellite of the Bujinkan Happo Dojo under the close supervision of Shidoshi Don Houle. Through this association, our Dojo (study group) is authorized to practice and assist in passing on the 9 traditional ryuha passed down from generation to generation. All ranking we receive is licensed through Soke Dr. Masaaki Hatsumiof the Bujinkan Hombu Dojo in Noda City, Japan.

The Bujinkan Omaha Dojo was founded by Robert Mejias, with direction from the Bujinkan Happo Dojo. Robert began his training with the Bujinkan in the summer of 1999 with Shidoshi Don Houle in New Jersey. While repeatedly paying respect to Mr. Houle, he has also trained with numerous other teachers within the Bujinkan community such as Shihan Joe Maurantonio and Shihan Jack Hoban, through countless workshops.

What is the Bujinkan?

The Bujinkan is a collaboration of the 9 disciplines or schools. Six are considered traditional samurai disciplines, while the other three are authentic ninjutsu traditions. The individual practitioner is exposed to body conditioning through constant training in leaping, striking, grappling, philosophy and traditional Japanese weapons.

As with most traditional Japanese Budo arts, there is no form of sport competition within the Bujinkan, leaving the individual to practice at the pace comparable for the material being learned. The practitioner is not forced to participate in any activity, rather with time, the practitioner begins to recognize changes in their own body and mind as it adapts to a much stronger state.

The Bujinkan follows the Dan/Kyu format of most Japanese Budo arts. As a symbolization of the beginning stages, the beginning practitioner starts with a high level kyu rank (Mukyu=10th kyu) and trickle down to a low kyu rank (1st kyu). The Dan ranks continue the progression of learning but range from a low rank to a high rank.

The following is a list of the historical ryu-ha:

  • TogakureRyu Ninjutsu - 34th Soke, Hidden door School
  • Gyokko Ryu Kosshijutsu - 28th Soke, Jeweled Tiger School
  • Koto Ryu Koppojutsu - 18th Soke, Tiger Knocking Down School
  • Takagi Yoshin Ryu Jutaijutsu - 17th Soke, High Tree, Raised Heart School
  • Kukishinden Ryu Happo Hinkenjutsu - 28th Soke, Nine Demons School
  • Shinden Fudo Ryu Dakentaijutsu - 26th Soke, Immoveable Heart School
  • Gikan Ryu Koppojutsu - 15th Soke Truth, Loyalty, and Justice School
  • Kumogakure Ryu Ninpo - 14th Soke, Hiding in the Clouds School
  • Gyokushin Ryu Ninpo - 21st Soke, Jeweled Heart School

What is Budo?

The study of Japanese Martial Arts has been divided among two eras. These eras consist of the martial ways prior to and after the Meiji Restoration of 1868AD. Martial Arts that were formed or created after the year 1868 are recognized as Martial Sport Arts. However, disciplines formed before the Meiji Restoration of 1868 are considered Japanese Budo.

The root word "Bu" stands for the Japanese warrior of its time (primarily the Samurai). Subsequently, the word "do" represents the "way of/study of" a particular object. Therefore, practitioners of Budo were considered warrior fighters. As history would reflect, the Samurai of Japan were the fierce, honorable warriors of their time (comparable to that of the European Knights of the feudal ages).

About Ninpo

Random foliage

"The essence of the ninja's spirit is fortitude. Perseverance of mind, body and spririt. It is the power that one must develop by training hard. This leads to the ability to receive any insult and throw it away together with any traces of resentment.

The true meaning of "Nin" is having a heart as peaceful, joyful and lovely as that of a flower (kajo waraku). One should never place the blade before the heart."

Bujinkan Links